The South Lakes Premier Cycling Club

Kent Valley Road Club

The Kent Valley Road Club was formed in 1928 with the object of promoting all forms of cycling activity and to foster the spirit of comradeship and good fellowship amongst all members and fellow cyclists.

Today the KVRC promotes club time trials from April until September, including events south of Milnthorpe and on the Levens to Lindale stretch of the A590 varying from 10 to 25 miles plus 2 monthly hilly events. In addition, the club stages four open time trials, two on Levens one up the A6 to Shap summit and one on the circuit of Wild Boar Fell, and two road races on the Old Hutton circuit east of Kendal.

With growing interest in the cyclo-sportive branch of cycling in mind, the club now jointly organises the 3CC events (check out the 3CC link on this web page) and organises a winter series of lanequests from suitable hostelries in the surrounding area.

The club encourages riders of all standards and aspirations. We have nearly 100 members but newcomers - of either gender - are always welcome to come along and join in. The object of the club in 1928 is exactly the same today!

Latest Club News

Time Trial Result

Fri 17 April, 2015 – 7:33 am | by admin


Time Trial Season starts!

Tue 7 April, 2015 – 10:37 am | by admin

The KVRC Club Time trials start this Sunday 11:00am at Minthorpe – you can enter at Giant Kendal from 2:00pm Saturday afternoon – 01539728057 – sign on at Minthorpe from 10:30 – 10:50am.


Tunstall Trophy Series

Wed 1 April, 2015 – 8:54 am | by admin

Building on the success of last season’s revived Inter Club 25, we are joining forces with the Lakes RC, Barrow CW, Lancaster CC and the Lune and the Cleveleys RC to run a series of inter-club hilly time trials.
Counting events for 2015 will be the Bigland Hill Climb (Thurs, April 23rd), Old Hutton Hilly (Mon, May 18th), Conder Bottom HC (Mon, June 15th), Jubilee Tower HC (Mon, June 22nd), Coast Road 21 (Wed, July 1st), Jungle Cafe hilly (Mon, Aug 3rd), Knotallow HC (Mon, Aug 10th) and, finally, the Shap & Back hilly 28 (Sun, Aug 23rd).
Scoring will be simple – the first 30 riders (30pts down to 1) – gain points and the club with most points at the end of the series wins the Tunstall Memorial Trophy in memory of the the man who championed inter-club competition for more than three decades: our own late secretary and treasurer Derek Tunstall.

These events are included in the full list of Club Events and are in the calendar